Solo Flashmob Fails (BECAUSE FEAR)

If you hadn’t already cottoned on (though I’m sure you have because you’re such a clever bean!) fear is a pretty hot topic in my universe. I’ve been tackling my Fran world fears for a while now and came across some footage from last summer that needs to be shared.

It all began when my dear pal Topher asked me to dance in public for his music video. Maybe that doesn’t seem scary to you. I would like to bring your awareness to the fact that I bear no resemblance to a professional dancer – I could go so far as to say that my “moves” cause some onlookers distress and/or concern as you will see in the video. (Watch the final music video HERE)

Anyhow, despite my terror I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to stretch myself, and the awkwardness of my dancing was part of the charm anyway – it wasn’t meant to be good (thank god)!

I found the filming quite challenging but really, really fun. I just had to force myself to just go for it and revel in my goofiness and y’know what? It felt pretty empowering! Fuck y’all bitches that don’t like what I’m doing, this feels good to me for whatever reason!

Something very comforting (and amusing) that I found as well was that people barely looked at me anyway. There I was in the middle of the city centre at midday, surrounded by people having their lunch in the sunshine, practically all of them either not taking any notice of me whatsoever or doing their utmost to NOT LOOK AT ME (I’m talking to you, dog outside the Corn Exchange). I was at least expecting some heckling or snickering but nothing of the sort happened.

So the lesson I take from this is: go be your magical, goofy/classy/whatever self because maybe the world isn’t as scary and mean as it can seem sometimes. Or something like that. Either way go be you because it feels good! Also side note: anyone who tries to bring you down is probably (or definitely, I feel like probably definitely) only doing it because they have their own shit they aren’t dealing with. So do your best not to waste your energy on worrying about those people. We all do it, it’s ok, just the more we can focus on love rather than fear, the better 🙂

Love love love

x

Leave a comment