Making ‘Leaving Our Bodies’ EP covers

So I know this video looks loooong but I just wanted to share with you how I made the cutie lil felt EP covers for my EP ‘Leaving Our Bodies’.

It was a long process which is why the video had the be the length it is – and that’s without ALL of the footage haha! They all took around 3-4 hours each but I loved making them and I’m really proud of the end result. The DIY look of them (and of course they are very DIY) is part of their charm I think.

If you want one of these babies you can still get them HEEERE! Every one of them is slightly different so they’re all unique and very lovingly handmade.

If you want a little explanation of how I made them keep reading…
1. I bought a loooad of felt and ironed it all (carefully, with a towel over it) and then drew out a little ghostie and a heart and cut them out of the felt.
2. I used the CD itself to measure out how big the covers should be to make sure they would fit fine! I wanted you to actually be able to get the CD OUT and be able to put it back IN again. I then cut this out, pinned it and ironed it in half so that I could see exactly how big each side of the cover was for laying out the design.
3. Then I laid out where the lil ghost was gonna go and started drawing on the writing in pencil & sewing chalk. To embroider the writing I used black embroidery thread – I used 2 strands to get a good ole thickness.
4. To embroider the writing I used backstitch. Then to sew on the bits and sew it together I used a running stitch (please do correct me if I’m wrong about this – my sewing knowledge is not amazing haha).
That’s basically it! The writing was the part that took the longest, trying to get all those swirly letters all noice!

Love love love

xxx

Leave a comment